University of Otago

University of Otago

362 Leith St North Dunedin Dunedin View map

View website






Founded in 1869, Otago is New Zealand’s first University.

In the almost 150 years since, Otago has prided itself on being a research-led University with an international reputation for excellence. It is ranked 175 in the 2018/19 QS World University Rankings and in the top 100 in 12 subject areas.

It first received a Five Stars Plus QS Stars University rating in 2016.

Most undergraduate and postgraduate study takes place on the Dunedin campus, but the University also has Schools of Medicine and Health Sciences in Wellington and Christchurch, which are home to many leading medical researchers.

Otago offers more than 195 undergraduate and postgraduate programmes across four divisions:

Health Sciences



Otago School of Business

It also offers a Summer School, International School and Distance Learning programmes.

Programs available

Undergraduate Faculties/Departments and Programs

Undergraduate Faculties/Departments and Programs

Language »