University of Mons

University of Mons

Hainaut View map





The University of Mons (UMONS) is a university located in the
French-speaking province of Hainaut, Belgium, near the French border, on a
straight line between Brussels and Paris. UMONS has 7 faculties, 2 schools, 10
research institutes, 3 partner research centres, and operates on two campuses,
the main one located in Mons and first established in 1837 (date of creation of
the engineering faculty), and the second one in Charleroi. Under its present
form, UMONS is the result of a merger operated in 2009 between the University
of Mons-Hainaut and the Faculty of Engineering of Mons. UMONS has nowadays
about 40 different degree programmes on offer at Bachelor, Master and PhD level
in more than 25 fields. Beyond day classes, UMONS is a pioneer in the field of
further education in evening classes, welcoming adults returning to education
for nearly 30 years. Research objectives are pursued both regionally and
internationally and the expertise of the university researchers is
internationally acknowledged.

Language »