Universidad Católica del Uruguay (UCU)

Universidad Católica del Uruguay (UCU)

11600 Avda. 8 de Octubre 2738 Montevideo View map





The Catholic University of Uruguay is the first private university in Uruguay. Its foundation in 1985 paved the way for a Uruguayan tertiary education system, which ended a long tradition of state monopoly in university education. The University forms part of the Uruguayan Episcopal Conference and its management has been entrusted to the Company of Jesus. From its foundation, the UCU played an innovative role in developing novel educational methods. The university’s objective is to provide graduates with a humane and holistic education which allows them to acquire the skills and knowledge needed to succeed globally, and also to foster social transformation and justice. The University’s Main Campus is in the city of Montevideo, and there are two Branch Campuses in the country’s provinces, one in the city of Salto and the other one in Punta del Este. The University’s current academic offer includes 34 degree programs and 50 postgraduate programs and master’s degrees. In 2016, 7326


Language »