Tokai University

Tokai University

259-1292 4-1-1 Kitakaname Hiratsuka View map






Tokai University is a private university established by Dr. Shigeyoshi Matsumae in1942. “Tokai” of “Tokai University” refers to the sea to the east of Asia, namely the Pacific Ocean, and symbolizes the desire to foster rich spirits and broad perspectives. Tokai University consists of 8 campuses in Sapporo, Takanawa, Yoyogi, Shonan, Isehara, Shimizu, Kumamoto, and Aso, which are composed of 18 schools and colleges made up of 78 departments, majors, and programs. Its graduate school and professional graduate school offer 51 programs. The total student population is about 28,500. Tokai University maintains academic exchange agreements with more than 100 universities/organizations in 33 countries. A wide range of international exchange activities are being aggressively pursued, from those on the academic front involving students, researchers, joint-research projects, and the exchange of academic resources, to cultural and athletic exchange. There are 550-600 international students on


Language »