Hawler Medical University

Hawler Medical University

Peshawa Qazi St. Erbil View map





Hawler Medical University (HMU) is located in the city of Erbil (Hawler) in Iraqi Kurdistan Region. HMU has been established by the Council of Ministers of the Iraqi Kurdistan Regional Government in July 2005 and endorsed by the Council of Ministers of Iraqi Federal Government in March 2006. The university has been established to include in itself the four colleges that were belonging to Salahaddin University in Erbil. The colleges are: College of Medicine, College of Dentistry, College of Pharmacy and College of Nursing.

The overall aim of establishment of HMU is to improve the medical education in the region as well as to have a better management of the mentioned colleges. This does not mean that the colleges are newly established, but the management structure is new while the oldest college which is the College of Medicine was founded in 1977. Establishment of a university for medical group colleges is by itself the first experience in Iraq. HMU provides undergraduate and graduate


Language »