Akita University

Akita University





Akita University is a comprehensive national university consisting of both undergraduate and graduate programs. Formerly known as Akita Normal School, Akita Young Men’s Normal School, and Akita Mining College, it was later established as Akita University in 1949.

Akita University, following an extensive re-organization in 2014, we have set out on a new beginning as an organization offering four faculties: the Faculty of International Resource Sciences, the Faculty of Education and Human Studies, the Faculty of Medicine and the Faculty of Engineering Science. As of this year, we are also organized as an integrated research facility into four graduate schools: Graduate School of International Resource Sciences, Graduate School of Education, Graduate School of Medicine and Graduate School of Engineering Science. Hence our organization has become a stronger bastion fully focused on innovative research and education, which is the mission of the university as expected by society.

Language »